Justin at the Grand Music Palace 10th Anniversary Concert

 

When Justin was little, just like every other baby, he was easily entertained by catchy kiddie songs. His eyes would light up and he’d dance happily in his car seat. As he grew older, he continued to express his love for music. He would sing along to the songs on the radio, search for his favorites on Youtube, and star in his own little concerts at home.

A few years ago, my mom bought Julie Anne San Jose’s self-titled album. It was the first time we’d ever heard of her and we–Justin included–became instant fans. Since then, Julie Anne’s songs became our go-to roadtrip entertainment.

IMG_1384.JPG

As school year 2016-2017 ended and summer vacation started, my mom thought it was a good idea to invest in voice lessons–and she was right. We were so surprised at how fast Justin learned and how much he improved. After 15 sessions with Teacher Aim, he was ready to take the stage. He personally selected his recital piece and he chose one of his ultimate favorites, Julie Anne San Jose’s I’ll Be There.

On June 10, 2017, Justin performed during the Grand Music Palace 10th Anniversary Concert at Greenhills Teatrino.

I was holding back tears as I watched all the other kids [and teens] perform. But when the crowd started applauding as Justin sang, I couldn’t help but cry. Justin teared up a bit on stage as well, but not because of stage fright. He was in tears because performing made him extremely happy.

He was all smiles for the rest of the evening–from the end of the concert to dinner to the drive back home. With the knowledge about this upcoming blog, Justin requested that I write about his new achievement. He watched me as I typed away. He read the words out loud, and even corrected me when I made typo errors until he fell asleep. Time for his beauty rest! And mine, too!

Watch my little love’s performance below!

Leave a Reply

